Econergy Buys Up 106 MW Of Operational UK Battery Storage Capacity
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get backup power and energy gear delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Econergy has acquired all shares in the holding company that owns four operational battery storage projects in England, totaling 106 MW. The one-hour systems add to the company’s UK operational capacity, bringing it to 196 MW; Econergy is evaluating an upgrade to three-hour duration.

Independent power producer Econergy has acquired four operational battery storage projects in England, adding a combined 106 MW to its UK portfolio. The company said in a filing to the Tel Aviv Stock Exchange that it bought all shares in the holding company that owns the assets, raising its operational UK battery capacity from 90 MW to 196 MW.

The four standalone battery energy storage systems currently have a one-hour duration and a combined energy capacity of 106 MWh. Econergy said it is evaluating plans to extend their duration to three hours, which would bring the portfolio’s potential storage capacity to about 318 MWh. The company has not announced that augmentation work is approved or scheduled.

Econergy expects the acquired projects to generate about £4.7 million in EBITDA in 2027, before planned augmentation works. That figure is a company projection, not a reported result, and the source report does not give details of the assumptions behind the estimate or the acquisition price.

The purchase increases Econergy’s operational UK portfolio from two grid-connected assets to six. The company’s existing projects include the 50 MW / 100 MWh Swangate battery in West Melton, Yorkshire, which began operating in 2024, and the 40 MW / 120 MWh Dalmarnock project in Glasgow, which connected to the grid in October 2026.

At a glance
announcementWhen: Disclosed in a filing to the Tel Aviv S…
The developmentEconergy disclosed the acquisition of a company holding four operating UK battery storage projects with a combined 106 MW capacity.

Econergy Doubles UK Operating Capacity

The acquisition substantially expands the amount of battery capacity Econergy already operates in the UK, rather than adding only a project pipeline or a site still awaiting construction. Moving from 90 MW to 196 MW gives the company a larger operating base as it pursues further growth in the market.

The proposed duration extension could also change how much energy the four sites can store and how long they can deliver it. Econergy said longer-duration systems could shift electricity to periods of stronger demand and respond more flexibly to market conditions. The potential benefit depends on the upgrades proceeding and on market revenues; the company has not disclosed an investment decision or the expected financial impact of the work.

For the wider power system, batteries can store electricity and return it to the grid at a later time. The acquired systems are currently rated for one hour, so their contribution is bounded by that duration. A three-hour configuration would increase their energy capacity, but the actual operational and commercial effect will depend on technical plans and market conditions.

Products Worth Considering

Philips Hue White and Color Ambiance Smart Light Starter Kit, 2 A19 Bulbs with Hub

Philips Hue White and Color Ambiance Smart Light Starter Kit, 2 A19 Bulbs with Hub

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Existing UK Assets and Expansion Plans

The acquisition sits within a broader UK development effort. Econergy says it has a 1.6 GW UK energy storage development pipeline, in addition to the operational portfolio. A development pipeline represents projects at varying stages and should not be read as capacity already built or connected.

Across Europe, Econergy reports a battery storage portfolio of 5.9 GW, with 3.3 GW expected to be connected to the grid, under construction or in pre-construction by 2028. These are company figures about its wider portfolio, not an update on the construction status of the four newly acquired UK sites.

The transaction was disclosed through a filing to the Tel Aviv Stock Exchange. The source report says the seller was not named and that public registry transfer filings had not yet appeared at Companies House when it was published. Those details leave some aspects of the ownership transfer and transaction terms unreported.

“We’re pleased to be purchasing these four projects, which represent a business opportunity with clear upside.”

— Eyal Podhorzer, Econergy chief executive and director

Seller, Price and Upgrade Plans

Econergy has not identified the seller, and the source report says Companies House transfer filings were not available when the acquisition was reported. The purchase price and detailed transaction terms were also not provided in the available material.

The three-hour duration remains a possibility under evaluation, not a confirmed upgrade. No timetable, cost, permitting or engineering details were disclosed. It is also unclear what assumptions underpin Econergy’s projected £4.7 million in 2027 EBITDA, or how the forecast might change if augmentation proceeds.

Details Needed on Completion and Upgrades

Further reporting can clarify the seller, transaction value and any registration of the share transfer. Econergy may also provide details of the technical and financial assessment of extending the batteries to three-hour duration, including whether it will proceed and when work could begin.

Until those details are released, the confirmed development is the acquisition of the holding company and the addition of 106 MW of operating capacity. The 2027 EBITDA figure and proposed increase to about 318 MWh remain, respectively, a company forecast and an upgrade under evaluation.

Key Questions

What did Econergy acquire?

Econergy said it acquired 100% of the shares in the holding company that owns four operational battery storage projects in England, totaling 106 MW.

How much does the acquisition increase Econergy’s UK capacity?

The purchase raises Econergy’s operational UK battery capacity from 90 MW to 196 MW, according to the company.

How long can the batteries currently store energy?

The four assets have a one-hour duration, with a combined energy capacity of 106 MWh. Econergy is evaluating a possible extension to three hours, or about 318 MWh in total.

How much revenue does Econergy expect the assets to generate?

Econergy projects about £4.7 million in EBITDA in 2027 before planned augmentation works. This is a company forecast; the available report does not provide its underlying assumptions.

Who sold the projects, and what did Econergy pay?

The seller and purchase price were not disclosed in the available report. It also said Companies House transfer filings had not yet been made public at the time of publication.

Source: ess-news.com

You May Also Like

This Startup Helps Food Carts Switch Loud, Dirty Generators For Batteries

PopWheels is piloting battery swaps for 10 food vendors in Queens, testing whether shared batteries can replace generators at a workable cost.

Anyone familiar with SolarEdge key? Can it be used with a Pecron power station

Exploring whether SolarEdge key can be used with Pecron power stations, based on community insights and technical details.

What Fuel Polishing Actually Removes

Discover what fuel polishing actually removes to keep your engine clean and efficient, and learn why it’s essential for protecting your investment.

What Water in Fuel Really Does to a Generator

Prevent costly damage—discover how water in fuel can silently harm your generator and why understanding its effects is crucial.