For most homes, I’d start with the Eaton CHSPT2SURGE10 as the best overall whole-house surge protector because it offers a familiar Type 2 approach without requiring a dedicated breaker-style device. The Square D HEPD80 stands out for buyers seeking a clearly stated 80 kA rating, while the Furniqro FHSPD108S is aimed at shoppers prioritizing a higher published surge-current figure. The main tradeoffs are panel compatibility, installation method, surge rating, and whether a product’s specifications are clearly documented. A higher amp figure alone does not tell the whole story, and a device that does not fit your panel is not a useful choice. Continue reading for the full comparison, selection criteria, and guidance on matching protection to your electrical system.
Get backup power and energy gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Key Takeaways
- The Eaton CHSPT2SURGE10 leads for broad appeal: it is the roundup’s balanced Type 2 pick, while breaker-based devices make panel compatibility a more immediate concern.
- Published surge-current ratings vary widely: the Furniqro FHSPD108S and SPD2ULTRA list 108,000 amps, while the Square D HEPD80 lists 80 kA; those numbers should be compared alongside certification, protection modes, and installation requirements.
- Panel brand and model matter as much as headline specs: Eaton BR, Square D Homeline, and Siemens QSPD2A035B options are tied to particular panel families or formats.
- Three-packs serve a different buying need: Drizzlen, the Type BR 3-Pack, and AQOVOR provide multiple devices, but buyers should verify the intended panel fit and whether a multi-device package suits their installation.
- The lineup spans different installation priorities: Type 1 choices such as the Gloyatin HSPD-25 and Type 2 devices such as Eaton’s CHSPT2SURGE options are not interchangeable without checking the service setup and manufacturer instructions.
| Eaton CHSPT2SURGE10 Whole-Home Surge Protector | ![]() | Best Overall Type 2 Pick | Model: CHSPT2SURGE10 | Device type: Type 2 surge protective device | Surge current capacity: 60 kA | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Drizzlen Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, 3-Pack | ![]() | Best Multi-Panel Pack | Model: ET003 | Part number: BRSURGE | Device type: Circuit breaker surge protective device | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Furniqro FHSPD108S Whole-House Surge Protector, 108,000 A, 120/240 V | ![]() | Best for High Stated Capacity | Model: FHSPD108S | Maximum current: 108,000 A | Voltage: 120/240 V | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Eaton Type BR Two-Pole Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device | ![]() | Best for Compatible Type BR Panels | Model: BRNSURGE | Part number: BRSURGE | Number of poles: 2 | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Gloyatin HSPD-80 Whole-Home Surge Protective Device | ![]() | Best Type 1 Installation Flexibility | Model: HSPD-80 | Device type: Type 1 SPD | Voltage: 120/240 VAC | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Furniqro FHSPD36S Whole-Home Surge Protector, 36,000 Amps, 120/240V | ![]() | Best Compact Entry-Level Pick | Brand: Furniqro | Model: FHSPD36S | System compatibility: 120/240V, 60Hz | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Gloyatin HSPD-25 Whole-Home Surge Protective Device, Type 1, 120/240 VAC | ![]() | Best for Type 1 Installation Flexibility | Brand: Gloyatin | Model: HSPD-25 | Device type: Type 1 surge protective device | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, 3-Pack | ![]() | Best Multi-Panel Pack | Brand: Treasea | Device type: BR whole-panel circuit breaker surge protective device | Pack count: 3 | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Square D HEPD80 Whole-Home Surge Protection Device, 1-Phase, 3-Wire, 120/240V, 80kA | ![]() | Best Established-Brand Capacity | Brand: Square D | Model: HEPD80 | Voltage: 120/240V | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| SPD2ULTRA Whole-Home Surge Protector, 108,000-Amp, 120/240V | ![]() | Best for High Stated Capacity and Warranty | Surge capacity: 108,000 A | Voltage: 120/240V AC, 60 Hz | Maximum current: 50 A | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Square D by Schneider Electric HOM2175SB Homeline SurgeBreaker | ![]() | Best for Homeline Panel Owners | Model: HOM2175SB | System: 120/240 VAC, single phase, 3-wire | Installation: Plug-on; requires 2 spaces | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Eaton CHSPT2SURGE Type 2 Whole-Home Surge Protector | ![]() | Best for Broad Panel Compatibility | Model: CHSPT2SURGE | Device type: Type 2 surge protective device | System: 120/240 VAC, single phase, 60 Hz | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Siemens QSPD2A035B BoltShield Indoor Surge Protective Device, 35 kA | ![]() | Best Plug-In Pick for Siemens Panels | Model: QSPD2A035B | Surge protection: 35 kA per phase | Voltage: 240 volts | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| AQOVOR Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, 3-Pack | ![]() | Best Multi-Unit Type BR Pack | Model: BRLSP | Quantity: 3 devices | Device type: Type BR whole-panel circuit breaker surge protective device | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| ABB THOMESURGEP Whole-Home Surge Protection Device | ![]() | Best External Type 1 Option | Model: THOMESURGEP | Device type: Type 1 surge protective device | Voltage: 120/240 V and 120/208 V AC | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| whole house surge protector | Model | Voltage | Device type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Eaton CHSPT2SURGE10 Whole-Home | CHSPT2SURGE10 | 240 volts | Type 2 surge protective device |
| Drizzlen Type BR Whole-Panel C | ET003 | — | Circuit breaker surge protective device |
| Furniqro FHSPD108S Whole-House | FHSPD108S | 120/240 V | — |
| Eaton Type BR Two-Pole Circuit | BRNSURGE | 240 volts | — |
| Gloyatin HSPD-80 Whole-Home Su | HSPD-80 | 120/240 VAC | Type 1 SPD |
| Furniqro FHSPD36S Whole-Home S | FHSPD36S | — | — |
| Gloyatin HSPD-25 Whole-Home Su | HSPD-25 | 120/240 VAC | Type 1 surge protective device |
| Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Br | — | 120/240 volts | BR whole-panel circuit breaker surge protective device |
| Square D HEPD80 Whole-Home Sur | HEPD80 | 120/240V | — |
| SPD2ULTRA Whole-Home Surge Pro | — | 120/240V AC, 60 Hz | — |
| Square D by Schneider Electric | HOM2175SB | — | — |
| Eaton CHSPT2SURGE Type 2 Whole | CHSPT2SURGE | — | Type 2 surge protective device |
| Siemens QSPD2A035B BoltShield | QSPD2A035B | 240 volts | — |
| AQOVOR Type BR Whole-Panel Cir | BRLSP | 120/240V | Type BR whole-panel circuit breaker surge protective device |
| ABB THOMESURGEP Whole-Home Sur | THOMESURGEP | 120/240 V and 120/208 V AC | Type 1 surge protective device |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Eaton CHSPT2SURGE10 Whole-Home Surge Protector
The Eaton CHSPT2SURGE10 is a strong fit for homeowners seeking a hardwired, panel-mounted layer of protection without moving to a Type 1 device. Its stated 60 kA surge capacity and 10 kA nominal discharge rating give buyers useful rating details to compare, while the LED indicators offer a quick visual status check. Unlike the Gloyatin HSPD-80, which is Type 1 and wall-mounted, this Eaton is a Type 2 device designed for installation at an electrical panel and can be placed indoors or outdoors. That flexibility comes with a practical tradeoff: it has no plug-in setup and requires panel wiring, so I would plan for a qualified installer rather than treat it as a DIY accessory. Choose it for established panel-based protection; skip it if you need a simple plug-in solution.
Pros:- 60 kA surge current capacity with a stated 10 kA nominal discharge rating
- Indoor or outdoor installation gives more placement flexibility than an indoor-only unit
- LED indicators make protection status easier to check
- UL listed and NEC compliant
Cons:- Requires hardwired installation at an electrical panel
- Professional installation is recommended, adding work beyond a plug-in protector
- The provided specifications list no plug-in outlets for point-of-use devices
Best for: Homeowners who want a recognized Type 2 panel-mounted device with visible status indicators and indoor or outdoor installation flexibility.
Not ideal for: Renters or buyers who cannot arrange electrical-panel work, since this device is hardwired and professional installation is recommended.
- Model:CHSPT2SURGE10
- Device type:Type 2 surge protective device
- Surge current capacity:60 kA
- Voltage:240 volts
- Installation:Hardwired; indoor or outdoor
- Certifications:UL listed; NEC compliant
- Dimensions:5 × 5 inches
Our verdict“Choose the Eaton CHSPT2SURGE10 if you want a status-indicated Type 2 panel device and can arrange professional installation.”
Drizzlen Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, 3-Pack
The Drizzlen Type BR three-pack is the lineup’s practical choice for buyers who need multiple compatible panel devices rather than one standalone whole-home unit. Each protector uses two branch-circuit spaces and has a stated 18 kA surge current rating. That rating is well below the Eaton CHSPT2SURGE10’s 60 kA capacity, so I would not choose Drizzlen for the highest listed surge capacity in this group. Its advantage is quantity: a three-pack may suit a property with multiple panels or a buyer sourcing devices for separate installations. Compatibility should be checked before purchase, since the product is specified for Type BR panels. The supplied data also gives little detail about status indicators, enclosure placement, or warranty, leaving more questions than the Eaton and Gloyatin options.
Pros:- Three devices are included for multiple installations
- 18 kA surge current rating is specified
- Panel-mount design keeps the device integrated with the electrical panel
- Two-pole format is identified in the product specifications
Cons:- Requires a compatible Type BR panel and uses two branch-circuit spaces per device
- 18 kA rating is lower than the Eaton CHSPT2SURGE10’s stated 60 kA capacity
- The provided product data does not specify status indicators, enclosure placement, or warranty
Best for: Property owners or electrical professionals sourcing three surge devices for compatible Type BR panels or separate installations.
Not ideal for: Homeowners with a non-Type BR panel, or buyers who want one clearly documented whole-home unit with specified installation environment and status indicators.
- Model:ET003
- Part number:BRSURGE
- Device type:Circuit breaker surge protective device
- Circuit breaker type:Standard Type BR
- Number of poles:2
- Branch circuit spaces:2
- Pack quantity:3
Our verdict“Pick this three-pack when you need several devices for compatible Type BR panels and do not need the lineup’s highest stated surge capacity.”
Furniqro FHSPD108S Whole-House Surge Protector, 108,000 A, 120/240 V
The Furniqro FHSPD108S makes its case with a stated maximum current of 108,000 amps, the largest figure among these five products. It also supports 120/240 V systems and has LED status indicators, making it more informative at a glance than the Drizzlen three-pack, whose supplied details do not mention a status display. Its compact enclosure is listed for indoor or outdoor installation, which gives placement flexibility, though an electrician may be needed to address panel fit and grounding. I would compare its maximum-current figure carefully with other ratings: the Eaton CHSPT2SURGE10 lists both surge capacity and nominal discharge rating, while Furniqro’s supplied data does not provide that same rating detail. The product data also lists a plug type despite describing a whole-home installation, so buyers should confirm the intended wiring method before ordering.
Pros:- Maximum current is stated as 108,000 A
- Supports 120/240 V, 60 Hz systems
- LED indicators provide a visible status check
- Compact enclosure is listed for indoor or outdoor installation
Cons:- Installation and grounding may require a qualified electrician
- The provided data does not state a nominal discharge rating
- Listed plug information may leave the intended installation method unclear
Best for: Homeowners prioritizing a high stated maximum-current figure, LED status indication, and an indoor/outdoor enclosure for a 120/240 V system.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need clearly documented panel-wiring details or a fully specified discharge rating before choosing a whole-home device.
- Model:FHSPD108S
- Maximum current:108,000 A
- Voltage:120/240 V
- Frequency:60 Hz
- Installation:Indoor or outdoor
- Status indicators:LED
- Weight:0.46 kg
- Listed plug information:Type A; Type B, 3-pin North American
Our verdict“Consider the Furniqro FHSPD108S if its stated 108,000 A capacity is your priority and you can confirm installation details with an electrician.”
Eaton Type BR Two-Pole Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device
The Eaton Type BR two-pole device is the most focused pick here: it is a panel-mounted surge protector for buyers who already have a compatible Type BR setup. Its 18 kA rating matches the stated rating of the Drizzlen three-pack, but this Eaton is sold as one device rather than a multi-unit pack. Compared with the Eaton CHSPT2SURGE10, it has a simpler specification profile and a lower stated surge capacity, so it is less compelling for buyers seeking more rating headroom or visible status indicators. In return, its panel-mount, two-pole format is straightforward for the right panel. The supplied data does not specify an installation environment, indicator lights, or warranty, so I would verify fit and installation requirements before choosing it over the more fully described CHSPT2SURGE10.
Pros:- Two-pole design for panel installation
- 18 kA current rating is specified
- 240-volt rating suits the listed panel application
- Compact listed weight of 5.6 ounces
Cons:- Requires a compatible panel and electrical installation
- Its 18 kA rating is lower than the CHSPT2SURGE10’s stated 60 kA capacity
- The provided specifications do not mention status indicators, installation environment, or warranty
Best for: Homeowners or electricians who need a single two-pole surge device for a compatible Eaton Type BR panel.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking a higher stated surge capacity, status indicators, or a multi-device pack; the CHSPT2SURGE10 is better specified for those needs.
- Model:BRNSURGE
- Part number:BRSURGE
- Number of poles:2
- Voltage:240 volts
- Mounting type:Panel mount
- Circuit breaker type:Standard
- Item weight:5.6 ounces
Our verdict“Choose this Eaton when you need one panel-mounted surge device for a compatible Type BR system and do not need a higher stated capacity.”
Gloyatin HSPD-80 Whole-Home Surge Protective Device
The Gloyatin HSPD-80 stands apart from the panel-focused Type 2 Eaton CHSPT2SURGE10 because it is specified as a Type 1 SPD with wall mounting and indoor or outdoor placement. Its stated capacity reaches 80 kA, higher than the Eaton’s listed 60 kA, though the figures alone do not capture every difference between device types or installation setups. This Gloyatin may suit buyers looking for a hardwired whole-home device that is not described as a panel-mounted Type 2 unit. It also claims compatibility with circuit breakers from any brand, a potentially useful fit advantage, but the product data does not identify specific installation requirements beyond system wiring. The biggest drawback is straightforward: no warranty is included. Buyers who prefer a better-documented Type 2 device with LED indicators may favor the Eaton instead.
Pros:- Type 1 device with stated surge capacity up to 80 kA
- Supports 120/240 VAC systems
- Indoor or outdoor wall mounting is specified
- Listed as compatible with circuit breakers from any brand
Cons:- No warranty is included
- Requires installation in the home’s electrical system
- The supplied product data does not mention status indicators
Best for: Homeowners seeking a Type 1 whole-home SPD with indoor/outdoor wall-mounting flexibility and a stated capacity up to 80 kA.
Not ideal for: Buyers who require a stated warranty or want LED status indicators and more detailed installation guidance.
- Model:HSPD-80
- Device type:Type 1 SPD
- Voltage:120/240 VAC
- Surge capacity:Up to 80 kA
- Mounting type:Wall mount
- Number of poles:2
- Installation:Indoor or outdoor
- Warranty:None
Our verdict“Choose the Gloyatin HSPD-80 if you want a Type 1 wall-mounted device with indoor/outdoor flexibility and accept the lack of a warranty.”
Furniqro FHSPD36S Whole-Home Surge Protector, 36,000 Amps, 120/240V
I’d shortlist the Furniqro FHSPD36S for a household seeking panel-level protection in a compact unit, with the useful flexibility of indoor or outdoor installation. Its stated 36,000-amp rating is below the Square D HEPD80’s 80 kA and the SPD2ULTRA’s 108,000-amp claim, so it is not the strongest choice here on listed capacity. The tradeoff is a simpler specification: its status LEDs give a visual indication, but the product data does not list a warranty. Installation guidance recommends an electrician familiar with surge protection, and panel compatibility should be confirmed before purchase. Compared with the higher-capacity SPD2ULTRA, this is a more restrained option for buyers who value compact, flexible placement over maximum stated surge capacity.
Pros:- 36,000-amp stated current rating for whole-home surge protection
- Indoor or outdoor installation options
- LED indicators provide a visible protection-status check
- Supports 120/240V, 60Hz systems
Cons:- No warranty is listed
- Installation guidance recommends a qualified electrician
- Its stated capacity is lower than the Square D HEPD80 and SPD2ULTRA
Best for: Homeowners seeking a compact 120/240V whole-home device with indoor or outdoor placement options and a moderate stated surge rating.
Not ideal for: Buyers prioritizing a listed warranty or the highest stated surge capacity; the product data provides no warranty and lists less capacity than the SPD2ULTRA or Square D HEPD80.
- Brand:Furniqro
- Model:FHSPD36S
- System compatibility:120/240V, 60Hz
- Circuit breaker type:Standard
- Mounting type:Wall mount
- Poles:1
- Installation:Indoor or outdoor
- Warranty:None listed
Our verdict“Choose the FHSPD36S if compact, flexible installation matters more than a warranty or the lineup’s highest listed surge capacity.”
Gloyatin HSPD-25 Whole-Home Surge Protective Device, Type 1, 120/240 VAC
The Gloyatin HSPD-25 stands apart in this group by identifying itself as a Type 1 surge protective device and allowing indoor or outdoor installation. That classification and placement flexibility may suit a buyer whose electrician is selecting protection for a particular service setup; it is not a substitute for checking local requirements and panel compatibility. Its surge capacity is listed as 25/50/80 kA, but the data does not say which figure applies to this model. That ambiguity makes a direct comparison with the clearly stated 80 kA Square D HEPD80 difficult. Like the Furniqro FHSPD36S, it supports indoor and outdoor placement, but the Furniqro provides one stated current figure. I’d buy this only after confirming the applicable rating and installation fit.
Pros:- Identified as a Type 1 surge protective device
- Supports 120/240 VAC systems
- Indoor or outdoor installation options
- Two-pole design
Cons:- Surge capacity is given as a range without identifying the applicable rating
- Panel and breaker compatibility may need professional assessment
- No warranty information is provided
Best for: Homeowners working with an electrician who want a Type 1 device and need indoor or outdoor placement flexibility.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a clearly stated surge rating before comparing models; the listed 25/50/80 kA range does not identify the rating for this device.
- Brand:Gloyatin
- Model:HSPD-25
- Device type:Type 1 surge protective device
- Voltage:120/240 VAC
- Surge capacity:Up to 25/50/80 kA; applicable rating unspecified
- Circuit breaker type:Standard
- Mounting type:Wall mount
- Poles:2
- Installation:Indoor or outdoor
Our verdict“Consider the HSPD-25 when Type 1 classification and placement flexibility fit your installation, but verify its actual surge rating first.”
Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, 3-Pack
This Treasea Type BR three-pack is the lineup’s distinctive choice for buyers who need multiple compatible panel devices rather than one externally mounted protector. Each unit is rated at 18 kA, uses two branch-circuit spaces, and includes a light indicator. The pack format may help when outfitting multiple eligible panels, but it does not make one unit a higher-capacity alternative to the Square D HEPD80 or SPD2ULTRA. The product data describes quick installation, yet a circuit-breaker-style device still depends on a compatible Type BR panel and available spaces; buyers should confirm that fit before ordering. The listing provides a one-year warranty, unlike several products here with no stated warranty, but does not supply fuller installation or performance details.
Pros:- Three devices included for use across compatible panels
- 18 kA surge protection rating per device
- Light indicator shows device status
- One-year warranty listed
Cons:- Each device uses two branch-circuit spaces
- Designed for Type BR panels, limiting compatibility
- 18 kA rating is lower than the listed capacities of the Square D HEPD80 and SPD2ULTRA
Best for: Owners or property managers with multiple compatible Type BR panels who want a matched set of panel-mounted surge devices.
Not ideal for: Homeowners with non-BR panels, limited breaker spaces, or a preference for one externally mounted whole-home protector; compatibility and space requirements may rule it out.
- Brand:Treasea
- Device type:BR whole-panel circuit breaker surge protective device
- Pack count:3
- Branch circuit spaces:2 per device
- Voltage:120/240 volts
- Indicator:Light indicator
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Pick this pack when you need several devices for confirmed-compatible Type BR panels, not when you want the strongest single-unit rating.”
Square D HEPD80 Whole-Home Surge Protection Device, 1-Phase, 3-Wire, 120/240V, 80kA
The Square D HEPD80 is a strong fit for buyers who want a clearly stated 80 kA rating from a named electrical-equipment brand. It installs in a residential load center and uses an LED indicator to show when replacement is needed, a practical signal that the protection device may need attention. Its 1-phase, 3-wire, 120/240V configuration is specific to residential systems, but it still requires a load-center installation rather than a plug-in setup. Against the SPD2ULTRA, the HEPD80 lists lower capacity and does not specify a warranty duration; the SPD2ULTRA advertises 108,000 amps and a 10-year warranty. The HEPD80’s appeal is the clearly defined configuration and replacement indicator, not a claim to lead on capacity or warranty.
Pros:- Clearly stated 80 kA maximum current rating
- LED indicator signals when replacement is needed
- Specified for 1-phase, 3-wire, 120/240V residential systems
- Designed to complement plug-in surge strips
Cons:- Requires installation in a load center
- Warranty duration is not specified
- Lower stated capacity than the SPD2ULTRA
Best for: Homeowners with a compatible residential load center who want a clearly rated 80 kA device and a replacement-status indicator.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking the highest listed surge capacity, a stated warranty term, or protection that avoids work inside a load center.
- Brand:Square D
- Model:HEPD80
- Voltage:120/240V
- Maximum current:80 kA
- Phase:1-phase
- Wiring:3-wire
- Recommended use:Indoor
- Enclosure material:Polycarbonate, rubber
- Item weight:14.88 ounces
Our verdict“Choose the HEPD80 for a clearly specified 80 kA load-center protector with a replacement indicator, rather than for maximum capacity or warranty coverage.”
SPD2ULTRA Whole-Home Surge Protector, 108,000-Amp, 120/240V
The SPD2ULTRA takes the top spot here for buyers prioritizing a high stated surge capacity paired with a defined warranty: it lists 108,000 amps and a 10-year warranty. That combination is more compelling on paper than the Square D HEPD80’s 80 kA rating and unspecified warranty duration. It is designed for residential breaker panels and includes installation instructions and an LED status indicator, but its stated 50 A maximum current and recommended two-pole, 50 A breaker make panel fit a key purchase check. Installation requires wiring connections inside the breaker panel, so this is not a plug-in alternative to a surge strip. I’d favor it when the panel can accommodate its specified breaker arrangement and an electrician can handle the installation.
Pros:- 108,000 A stated surge capacity
- 10-year warranty listed
- LED status indicator and installation instructions included
- Specified for 120/240V AC, 60 Hz residential systems
Cons:- Installation requires wiring inside the breaker panel
- Recommended two-pole, 50 A breaker may not suit every panel
- Listed maximum current is 50 A, a separate specification that buyers should verify for their installation
Best for: Homeowners seeking a high stated surge capacity and a defined warranty, with a compatible residential panel and professional installation available.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a plug-in solution, cannot use a two-pole 50 A breaker, or want installation without wiring inside the panel.
- Surge capacity:108,000 A
- Voltage:120/240V AC, 60 Hz
- Maximum current:50 A
- Dimensions:2.2 × 3.62 × 5.11 inches
- Operating temperature:-40 to 50°C
- Mounting:Mountable
- Recommended circuit breaker:2-pole, 50 A
- Warranty:10 years
Our verdict“Choose the SPD2ULTRA if its breaker requirements match your panel and you value its high stated capacity alongside a 10-year warranty.”
Square D by Schneider Electric HOM2175SB Homeline SurgeBreaker
I’d choose the HOM2175SB when a home already has a compatible Square D Homeline load center and a spare pair of spaces. Its plug-on installation avoids a separate wall-mounted enclosure, while the LED status indicator gives a quick visual check that the device remains operational. Compared with the Eaton CHSPT2SURGE, which connects to load centers from any manufacturer, this Square D unit is a more panel-specific fit rather than a flexible choice for mixed or unknown equipment. The tradeoff is a modest 10 kA maximum current rating and the need to reserve two panel spaces. Its description also says it excludes electronic devices, so I would not treat it as a complete substitute for point-of-use protection for sensitive electronics.
Pros:- Plug-on installation for compatible Homeline load centers
- LED indicator makes operational status easy to check
- UL listed for indoor use
- Compact device body
Cons:- Designed for Homeline load centers rather than universal panel compatibility
- Uses two load-center spaces
- 10 kA maximum current rating is lower than the per-phase ratings listed for the Siemens and ABB options
Best for: Homeowners with a compatible Square D Homeline panel, two available spaces, and a preference for a plug-on device with a visible status light.
Not ideal for: Owners of non-Homeline panels, crowded load centers, or households seeking a single device explicitly suited to protect electronic equipment.
- Model:HOM2175SB
- System:120/240 VAC, single phase, 3-wire
- Installation:Plug-on; requires 2 spaces
- Maximum current:10 kA
- SCCR:22.5 kA
- Status indicator:LED operational status indicator
- Listing:UL listed
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Choose it for a compatible Homeline panel when plug-on installation and a clear LED status check matter more than broader panel compatibility.”
Eaton CHSPT2SURGE Type 2 Whole-Home Surge Protector
The Eaton CHSPT2SURGE is the flexible pick for homeowners who do not want to choose a surge protector around one panel brand. It connects to load centers from any manufacturer and mounts on a wall, unlike the panel-specific Square D HOM2175SB and Siemens QSPD2A035B. Its NEMA 4 enclosure and LED status indication add practical reassurance for an externally mounted Type 2 device, while the quick-connect design supports mounting cable protection modules. The tradeoff is that this is not simply a plug-in panel accessory: it needs a load-side connection through a dedicated circuit breaker, and installation must follow NEC guidelines. Its listed surge capacity is also below the 35 kA per-phase Siemens and 36 kA per-phase ABB figures, so buyers comparing ratings should note the different specifications.
Pros:- Compatible with load centers from any manufacturer
- NEMA 4 enclosure
- LED status indication
- Quick-connect design for mounting cable protection modules
Cons:- Requires a load-side connection through a dedicated circuit breaker
- Installation must follow NEC guidelines
- Listed surge capacity is lower than the Siemens and ABB per-phase figures
Best for: Homeowners seeking a wall-mounted Type 2 device that can work with load centers from different manufacturers and can arrange a code-compliant dedicated-breaker installation.
Not ideal for: DIY buyers looking for a direct plug-in module, or anyone unable to provide a dedicated breaker and suitable installation.
- Model:CHSPT2SURGE
- Device type:Type 2 surge protective device
- System:120/240 VAC, single phase, 60 Hz
- Enclosure:NEMA 4
- Maximum continuous operating voltage:150 V L–N; 300 V L–L
- Nominal discharge current:5 kA
- Surge current capacity:22 kA; 36 kA per phase
- Mounting:Wall mount
Our verdict“Pick the Eaton when broad panel compatibility and a weather-resistant enclosure matter more than plug-in convenience or a higher listed per-phase rating.”
Siemens QSPD2A035B BoltShield Indoor Surge Protective Device, 35 kA
For a compatible Siemens load center, the QSPD2A035B pairs straightforward installation with a clearly stated 35 kA per-phase rating. It plugs directly into the panel, so it avoids the separate wall mounting and dedicated-breaker connection needed by the Eaton CHSPT2SURGE. Green and red mechanical indicators show protection status without relying on an LED. Compared with the Square D HOM2175SB, this Siemens option lists substantially higher per-phase surge protection, though both are restricted to their respective panel families. That brand limitation is the central tradeoff: the compact format is useful only if the panel is compatible, and the status indicators are mechanical rather than LED. I’d shortlist it for a Siemens-panel installation, not as a flexible upgrade for an unfamiliar or different-brand load center.
Pros:- 35 kA surge current protection per phase
- Plugs directly into compatible Siemens load centers
- Green and red mechanical status indicators
- Compact form factor
Cons:- Compatible with Siemens load centers only
- Status indicators are mechanical rather than LED
Best for: Homeowners with a compatible Siemens load center who want a direct plug-in device and a stated per-phase surge rating.
Not ideal for: Owners of non-Siemens panels or buyers who prefer an LED status display or a wall-mounted device compatible across panel brands.
- Model:QSPD2A035B
- Surge protection:35 kA per phase
- Voltage:240 volts
- Poles:2
- Mounting:Plug-in
- Dimensions:2 × 2.6 × 3 inches
- Weight:6.4 ounces
- Warranty:3 years; $10,000 standard warranty
Our verdict“Choose this Siemens-specific plug-in model when panel compatibility is confirmed and its 35 kA per-phase rating fits your priorities.”
AQOVOR Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device, 3-Pack
The AQOVOR pack stands out by including three Type BR whole-panel devices, making it a fit for buyers planning more than one compatible panel installation or seeking spares. Each device supports a 120/240V system and carries an 18 kA surge current rating. Compared with the Siemens QSPD2A035B, this is a lower-rated alternative with a less established panel-fit story in the supplied details; its stated Type BR designation makes checking the exact panel match especially important before purchase. Installation also uses two branch-circuit spaces, and the pigtail connection may call for electrical expertise. The one-year warranty is shorter than the three-year terms listed for the Square D and Siemens models. I’d value the multi-unit format only when all three units have a clear, compatible use.
Pros:- Three devices included in the pack
- Designed for whole-panel surge protection
- Supports 120/240V systems
- 18 kA surge current rating
Cons:- Requires two branch-circuit spaces per device
- Pigtail installation may require electrical expertise
- One-year warranty is shorter than the Square D and Siemens warranties listed here
Best for: Property owners or qualified installers who need multiple Type BR-compatible panel devices and have two spaces available in each intended panel.
Not ideal for: A homeowner needing only one device, anyone with a non-Type BR panel, or buyers seeking a simpler plug-in installation or longer stated warranty.
- Model:BRLSP
- Quantity:3 devices
- Device type:Type BR whole-panel circuit breaker surge protective device
- Voltage:120/240V
- Poles:2
- Branch-circuit spaces:2
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Consider this pack when you have several confirmed Type BR-compatible installations; for a single panel, a one-device option may be a better fit.”
ABB THOMESURGEP Whole-Home Surge Protection Device
The ABB THOMESURGEP is the strongest fit here for buyers who want a Type 1 service-entrance device mounted outside the panel rather than a plug-in module using breaker spaces. It lists 36 kA per phase and works with PowerMark PRO or load centers from any brand, giving it broader compatibility than the Siemens and Square D panel-specific devices. The external wall-mount format can also suit a crowded load center, while the Eaton CHSPT2SURGE is a Type 2 option that needs a dedicated load-side breaker connection. The tradeoff is that buyers must plan for an external installation, and the supplied compatibility information names PowerMark PRO or other-brand load centers, not every possible setup detail. Its stated voltage systems are 120/240 V and 120/208 V AC, so matching the device to the home’s electrical service matters.
Pros:- 36 kA surge protection per phase
- External wall mounting does not use breaker spaces
- Compatible with PowerMark PRO or load centers from any brand
- UL listed and ANSI certified
Cons:- Requires an external wall-mount installation rather than a plug-in fit
- Listed voltage options require confirmation against the home’s electrical service
- The stated US-system design may need an adapter or converter for use elsewhere
Best for: Homeowners seeking a Type 1 service-entrance or sub-panel device, especially when breaker spaces are limited or the panel is not an ABB model.
Not ideal for: Buyers who want a direct plug-in panel device, or homes whose service voltage and installation arrangement have not been checked for compatibility.
- Model:THOMESURGEP
- Device type:Type 1 surge protective device
- Voltage:120/240 V and 120/208 V AC
- Surge protection:36 kA per phase
- Nominal discharge current:10 kA
- Frequency:50–60 Hz
- Mounting:Wall mount
- Certifications:UL listed and ANSI certified
Our verdict“Choose the ABB when you want a high-capacity Type 1 external device that preserves panel spaces and matches your service voltage.”

How We Picked
I ranked these whole-house surge protectors around the decisions that matter before purchase: compatibility with the home’s panel and electrical service, device type and installation format, published surge-current information, and how clearly the product identifies its intended use. I also separated panel-family-specific breaker devices from more broadly presented whole-home units, since the wrong fit can outweigh a strong headline rating.
The ranking favors products with a clear role and useful buyer-facing specifications rather than treating the largest amp number as an automatic win. I considered practical tradeoffs such as whether a product is sold as a single device or a three-pack, whether its listed type suits the planned installation, and how much verification a buyer may need before ordering. Since the supplied product information does not establish every certification, warranty, or panel fit, I treat those as items buyers must confirm with the manufacturer or a qualified electrician.
| whole house surge protector | Device type |
|---|---|
| Eaton CHSPT2SURGE10 Whole-Home | Type 2 surge protective device |
| Drizzlen Type BR Whole-Panel C | Circuit breaker surge protective device |
| Furniqro FHSPD108S Whole-House | — |
| Eaton Type BR Two-Pole Circuit | — |
| Gloyatin HSPD-80 Whole-Home Su | Type 1 SPD |
| Furniqro FHSPD36S Whole-Home S | — |
| Gloyatin HSPD-25 Whole-Home Su | Type 1 surge protective device |
| Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Br | BR whole-panel circuit breaker surge protective device |
| Square D HEPD80 Whole-Home Sur | — |
| SPD2ULTRA Whole-Home Surge Pro | — |
| Square D by Schneider Electric | — |
| Eaton CHSPT2SURGE Type 2 Whole | Type 2 surge protective device |
| Siemens QSPD2A035B BoltShield | — |
| AQOVOR Type BR Whole-Panel Cir | Type BR whole-panel circuit breaker surge protective device |
| ABB THOMESURGEP Whole-Home Sur | Type 1 surge protective device |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Whole House Surge Protectors
Choosing a whole-house surge protector starts with the electrical system it must connect to, not the biggest number on the package. I’d use these factors to narrow the field before comparing individual models.
Match the Device to Your Panel
Breaker-style surge protectors are not universal: a unit designed for Eaton BR, Square D Homeline, or another panel family may not be approved for a different load center. Check the exact panel manufacturer and model number, then confirm the device is listed as compatible rather than relying on a similar-looking breaker shape. A mismatched device can create fit and safety problems or leave the installation outside the manufacturer’s instructions. If the panel label is unclear, ask an electrician to identify it before ordering. This step can rule out several products before surge ratings enter the decision.
Understand Type 1 and Type 2 Placement
Type 1 and Type 2 describe installation categories, not a simple quality ranking. Their placement depends on the service equipment, panel arrangement, local requirements, and the product’s instructions. A Type 1 device may be suited to a different point in the electrical system than a Type 2 unit, so swapping one for the other based only on a higher rating is a mistake. Ask whether the unit is intended for your service entrance or a downstream panel, and have a qualified electrician confirm the installation point. That answer often narrows the shortlist more reliably than brand or amperage claims.
Compare Ratings Without Chasing the Biggest Number
Surge-current figures can help distinguish products, but they do not tell you everything about protection performance. Confirm what the rating represents and compare it with the device’s clamping or voltage-protection information, protection modes, and recognized safety certification. Product listings may present ratings in different formats, so avoid treating every number as directly equivalent. A larger published figure can be appealing, but it does not compensate for uncertain compatibility or missing documentation. I’d favor a clearly specified device that suits the panel over a higher-rated unit whose fit or certification is hard to verify.
Plan for Installation and Available Space
Some devices connect through a compatible breaker; others use a different mounting or wiring arrangement. Before buying, check the manufacturer’s installation instructions for breaker requirements, wire routing, enclosure needs, and any space constraints near the panel. Crowded panels can make a theoretically compatible device difficult to install cleanly. Whole-panel surge protection involves work inside electrical equipment, so many homeowners should hire a licensed electrician rather than treat it as a routine DIY project. Include installation feasibility in the choice, not just the device specification.
Decide Whether a Multi-Pack Fits Your Project
A three-pack can make sense for several compatible panels, planned replacements, or a coordinated installation, but it is not automatically better value for a single home. Verify whether all units share the exact same panel compatibility and intended use, and confirm whether the package includes what the installation requires. Buying extra devices without a defined use can leave you with parts that do not match future panels or service changes. For a single-panel home, compare the package against a suitable one-device option and account for electrician time. The right quantity is the one that matches the actual installation plan.
Check Replacement, Status, and Warranty Details
Surge protective devices can wear out after absorbing damaging events, so find out how the unit signals its status and what the manufacturer says about replacement. Ask whether there is a visible indicator, an audible alert, or another way to tell that protection has been lost. Review the warranty terms and any connected-equipment coverage carefully, since conditions and exclusions may apply. These details are easy to overlook when listings emphasize surge capacity. A well-documented status and replacement plan can be more useful over time than a feature that is difficult to verify.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I install any whole-house surge protector in my existing electrical panel?
No. Panel-mounted models may be made for a particular manufacturer or breaker family, and other units have their own mounting and wiring requirements. Check the exact panel model and the surge protector’s compatibility documentation before purchase. Do not assume that a breaker with the same shape or rating will fit correctly. If you cannot confirm compatibility from the labels and manufacturer information, have an electrician identify the right device.
Should I choose the product with the highest listed surge-current rating?
Not by that figure alone. Ratings are useful for comparison, but listings may state them differently, and the number does not establish panel fit, installation suitability, certification, or protection details. Compare the full specification sheet, including protection modes and voltage-protection information where provided. A lower-rated device that is properly documented and compatible may be a better fit than a higher-numbered unit with unclear details. Treat the rating as one part of the decision, not the deciding factor.
Is a Type 1 protector a better choice than a Type 2 protector?
Neither type is automatically better for every home; they are intended for different installation positions and system arrangements. The correct choice depends on the service equipment, the panel, the manufacturer’s instructions, and local electrical requirements. Do not select a Type 1 model simply because the label sounds more protective, or substitute it for a Type 2 device without checking the installation plan. Ask an electrician which category suits your setup and where the device should be connected. That will narrow the choice more safely than comparing type labels alone.
Do I need a three-pack if I only have one main panel?
Usually, one compatible device is the practical starting point for a single-panel installation, but the right quantity depends on the home’s electrical layout and the product instructions. A three-pack may be useful for multiple compatible panels or a planned project, yet extra units do not add value if there is no approved place to install them. Confirm that every device in the package matches the intended panel and service. Also compare the package contents with the parts and labor your electrician says the installation needs. Avoid buying a multi-pack before the installation plan is clear.
Will a whole-house surge protector replace plug-in protectors for electronics?
A whole-house device is installed at the electrical panel and addresses surges entering through the home’s wiring, but it does not automatically make every connected device immune to damage. Some sensitive electronics may still benefit from a listed point-of-use protector, especially where equipment has specific protection needs. Follow the manufacturers’ instructions for both devices and avoid connecting protectors in ways they do not approve. A layered setup can address different points in the electrical system, but it should be planned around the equipment and installation guidance. Ask an electrician whether adding point-of-use protection makes sense for your home.
Conclusion
For a broad, straightforward shortlist, I’d choose the Eaton CHSPT2SURGE10 as the best overall, with the Square D HEPD80 as the best premium-leaning option for buyers who want a clearly stated 80 kA rating and have confirmed it suits their system. The Furniqro FHSPD36S is a reasonable value-oriented place to start when its specifications and compatibility meet the installation plan, while the Eaton Type BR Two-Pole device is the better beginner pick for someone whose electrician has verified an Eaton BR panel fit. For a high published surge-current figure, compare the Furniqro FHSPD108S and SPD2ULTRA against their complete documentation rather than choosing by amperage alone. Buyers with Square D Homeline, Siemens, or other specific panels should prioritize a confirmed panel-family match over any general ranking; when fit or installation type is uncertain, pause and ask a qualified electrician before ordering.
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.















